Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

General discussion about the ANT+ Trainers

Moderators: mcorn, Tacx Moderator, malfukt, Nasz

Post Reply
fellrnr
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:18 pm

Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by fellrnr » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:24 pm

The cadence data from my Neo 2 seems random. It will vary wildly, with intermittent changes, which suggests it's only occasionally detecting the rotation.

I've tried with Ant+ (Golden Cheetah, Garmin) and with Bluetooth (Tacx iOS App) and all show the same (bad) values.

Any suggestions? Is there something I should attach to the crank arm, such as a magnet?

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:06 pm

viewtopic.php?f=60&t=35429#p211025

0.0.18 - Is this the firmware number for Neo 2? You are the first who reported about it here on the forum.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

pizzamann
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:43 am

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by pizzamann » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:48 am

i have the same problem!
i have tried to start it again, but it didn't work (with 0.0.18)
before i made the update, it worked without any problems

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:54 am

pizzamann wrote:
Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:48 am
but it didn't work (with 0.0.18)
before i made the update, it worked without any problems
Request a file with the previous firmware version in the support@tacx.com
Please publish this file if the support gives it to you.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

fellrnr
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:18 pm

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by fellrnr » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:13 pm

The latest firmware I have is 0.0.18. It seems like the issue is with how the Neo detects the crank arms. I'm guessing that different crank arm material, crank arm length, and the geometry of the bike (which changes the crank location relative to the Neo) all influence things.

I saw one post where someone had taped a metal bar to the crank arm to make it longer.

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1999
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:12 pm

In the group of owners of Neo on Facebook the same topic is touched:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/TacxNeo ... 157643041/
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

NoShadowBike
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:22 am

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by NoShadowBike » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:37 pm

Here I have no Cadence at all :evil: This is the third time I have cadence problems with this expensive device.
So please build in a function to downgrade firmware as an other user already suggested.

@fellrnr
"saw one post where someone had taped a metal bar to the crank arm to make it longer"
This is one thing I already have done.
It works but on a more then 1000€ device :oops:

And now again problems... :roll:

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Neo 2 Cadence random values? (With 0.0.18)

Post by ms6073 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:57 pm

NoShadowBike wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:37 pm
So please build in a function to downgrade firmware as an other user already suggested.
Suggestions like this are best emailed to support@tacx.com. While it may not be clear since Tacx hosts the forums, these are still user forums moderated by other users such as yourself and Tacx employees rarely visit!
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64 | Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz | GeForce GTX 870M
Samsung 32" LED TV

Post Reply

Return to “Tacx Bushido/Vortex/Genius/Neo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests