Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

general chat

Moderators: malfukt, Steve Newton, Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Tacx Video Production, Nasz

Post Reply
dickylegge
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:35 pm

Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by dickylegge » Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:42 pm

Hi,

I am looking to get a Flow (T2240) but I need to use this in my garage where I currently do not have a power socket.

I have been trying to look online and on here to determine how much power the Flow needs as I was looking at getting something like this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Powkey-Generat ... 3YNK8A37W7

This says it has a maximum AC output of 200W, ideally I would like a fan as well to run off the device.

Would be great if someone could let me know.

R

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by ms6073 » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:44 pm

Assuming you own the garage and are not 'off the grid' so the speak, over the long term, wouldn't it pay better dividends to have an electrician wire in an electrical outlet in the garage?
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7455
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by mcorn » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:59 pm

The 2240 Flow Smart, like the regular USB Flow/Imagic before it, consumes very little power even though these units are capable of generating a fair amount of wattage resistance (up to 800 watts). The Flow/Image brakes are an eddy current type and utilize low power electromagnets to induce a braking force in a spinning metal eddy disk inside the brake assembly. These electromagnets use very little power to operate. I've never put a watt meter on my Flow brakes (I have both a Flow Smart and the older Flow/Imagic brakes), but I would be surprised if the units use more than 50 watts of outside power. So I would think your AC power supply should supply at least a couple of hours of service.

As an alternative to an electrician, why not use a high quality outdoor extension cord? Because the Flow uses so little power, even a 100 foot/33 meter extension cord should work fine.

One thing to keep in mind is a fan capable of moving enough air to cool you is probably going to use more power than the Flow - around 100 watts - so that would greatly cut into the operating time of your AC power supply.

I also assume you are using a laptop in battery mode and have a Wi-Fi Internet connection. Hope you have a decent Wi-Fi connection with good Internet speed.

dickylegge
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 2:35 pm

Re: Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by dickylegge » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:43 pm

Thank you very much for this, all very useful indeed.

The extension cord is one consideration but a bit of a tricky route to my flat on the second floor.

I might just rely on the English weather in the garage for cooling :-)

R

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1810
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by ms6073 » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:41 pm

dickylegge wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:43 pm
The extension cord is one consideration but a bit of a tricky route to my flat on the second floor.
Ah, sorry, way to easy when on the wrong side of the pond to assume everyone else has a two car garage adjacent/attached to the single family home. :oops:
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7455
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Power Requirements - Tacx Flow

Post by mcorn » Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:08 pm

ms6073 wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:41 pm
dickylegge wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:43 pm
The extension cord is one consideration but a bit of a tricky route to my flat on the second floor.
Ah, sorry, way to easy when on the wrong side of the pond to assume everyone else has a two car garage adjacent/attached to the single family home. :oops:
True, but running an outdoor extension cord out a second floor window is not such a big deal. Maybe a downstairs neighbor would be willing to provide an outlet as well for a small fee considering that power usage will be quite small.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest