Import an elevation/time profile without a google license?

Everything about Training Profiles & routes

Moderators: Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, malfukt, Nasz, Erik

Post Reply
v1sionmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:22 pm

Import an elevation/time profile without a google license?

Post by v1sionmaster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:34 pm

Can I ride just the elevation/time profile of an imported tcx or similar file without a google license? In this case it's our clubs TT course.
I just want to simulate the elevation profile not see the route on google earth (or whatever).

I have a fully licensed TT 4 on thelatest version.
JUST TO CLARIFY - the file doesn't HAVE to be tcx or need to be extremely accurate in terms of every lump and bump - I think I can convert to most formats. All I want to do is import the elevation/vs time profile to be able to recreate the ride in order for my iFlow control the resistance based on the profile.
Last edited by v1sionmaster on Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Can you ride a tcx profile without google license?

Post by ms6073 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:36 pm

I have not done that in a while because without 'smoothing' of the GPS track, even with 1-second recording,during playback TTS can turn a small dip in the road into a short but intense Hor's category climb. :mrgreen:
I believe you can use the import function, but take a look at the Import TCX Files thread as there is a link to a PDF heklp file with more info on the subject.
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

mickyduck
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:41 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can you ride a tcx profile without google license?

Post by mickyduck » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:31 pm

you can do it if you jump through a lot of hoops AND have access to an older version of TTS.. to enable conversions..
I eventually bought the license.. the conversions as stated often jump alarmingly and take a lot of manual editing.

v1sionmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:22 pm

Re: Can you ride a tcx profile without google license?

Post by v1sionmaster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:05 pm

ms6073 wrote:I have not done that in a while because without 'smoothing' of the GPS track, even with 1-second recording,during playback TTS can turn a small dip in the road into a short but intense Hor's category climb. :mrgreen:
I believe you can use the import function, but take a look at the Import TCX Files thread as there is a link to a PDF heklp file with more info on the subject.
I've re worded my request to hopefully make it clearer :D Thanks I'll have a look at that PDF!

v1sionmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:22 pm

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by v1sionmaster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:15 pm

I think that (sadly!) this (from the very basic pdf referred to above) may answer my question:
You can import a GPS file to ride it in GPS Rides
. - which I interpret meaning that having spent loadsa money on turbo and a full license to TTS4 I now need to spend ANOTHER £25.50 to get a Google license :shock: :cry: :evil:

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1805
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by Alex Masalovich » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:33 pm

But an interesting detail from the developer about GPS ride in multiplayer:
viewtopic.php?f=56&t=32613#p193665
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by ms6073 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:07 pm

v1sionmaster wrote:
You can import a GPS file to ride it in GPS Rides
. - which I interpret meaning that having spent loadsa money on turbo and a full license to TTS4 I now need to spend ANOTHER £25.50 to get a Google license
Curious. Having never purchased a Google license, I may be confusing TTS3 functionality, but I thought the import was still possible.
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

mickyduck
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:41 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by mickyduck » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:22 pm

I think you can with TTS3.. which is why i said access to a previous version

v1sionmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:22 pm

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by v1sionmaster » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:06 pm

Thanks to everyone for your advice :) Wouldn't it be nice if Tacx ever got round to creating a detailed manual for their software!!! :lol: I've never come across a software platform that's so widely used with so little info! What commission to forum members get for advising others?????? :roll: :wink:

thebigoneinfront
Posts: 2843
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Ludwigshafen/Rhine, Germany

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by thebigoneinfront » Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:57 am

At present, the legacy homepage is still more helpful than the shiny new one. http://ttsapi.tacx.com/en/service/manua ... df_manuals

v1sionmaster
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:22 pm

Re: Import an elevation/time profile without a google licens

Post by v1sionmaster » Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:16 pm

thebigoneinfront wrote:At present, the legacy homepage is still more helpful than the shiny new one. http://ttsapi.tacx.com/en/service/manua ... df_manuals
Well how about that! Either I've missed a trick or it's not very well publicised :wink: THANK YOU!

Post Reply

Return to “Profile & Route”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests