Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

All information on Tacx Cycling app

Moderators: mcorn, malfukt, Nasz, Lunatix

Post Reply
horsestaple
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:50 pm

Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by horsestaple » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:07 pm

This May 2017 video from Tacx explains how to ride a GPS route within the Tacx Cycling app:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1SRf6HcjNo

This has you going into cloud.tacx.com and opening (viewing) a GPS Workout; merely opening/viewing a Workout is supposed to then sync it to your own cloud account, such that when you next open the Tacx Cycling app that GPS Workout is available for you to ride...

Well that doesn't work for me: the UI within cloud.tacx.com now looks a little different, but I followed the same steps, of clicking on a GPS workout that's of type GPS. But, back in the Tacx Cycling app nothing subsequently appears under "Gps".

So, how do you ride a GPS route within the Tacx Cycling app?

Thanks.
NB: Neo via Bluetooth.

horsestaple
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by horsestaple » Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:19 am

So,how do you ride a GPS route within the Tacx Cycling app?
Does nobody have the answer to this question?!

User avatar
Spiix
Developer
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:09 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by Spiix » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:29 am

I think the best thing you can do is contact Tacx support so they can guide you through step-by step

horsestaple
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by horsestaple » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:21 am

Spiix wrote:
Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:29 am
I think the best thing you can do is contact Tacx support so they can guide you through step-by step
Thanks for a response Spiix!

Surely this is a very straightforward question to answer: how do I load a (public) GPS Workout from cloud.tacx.com into the Tacx Cycling app so that I can ride it?

Do you you know how to do it?
Do any of the dozens of people who've read my question know how to do it?
If you do, can't you just tell me (rather than me have to contact Tacx support...)? :shock:

I assumed this was a very basic question!

Thanks.

User avatar
Spiix
Developer
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:09 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by Spiix » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:24 am

Honestly, there's quite a few prerequisites for it all to work.I don't know all of them.

horsestaple
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by horsestaple » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:47 am

I took your advice and contacted Tacx support. A few days ago they responsed:

- you cannot use public GPS workouts in the Tacx Cycling App (reason: "this has to do with the innovations that Tacx implemented after the launch of the Tacx Desktop Application")

- and therefore, the Tacx Youtube video that I linked to above (in which Tacx explain how to use public GPS workouts in the Tacx Cycling App! ie. the source of my confusion...) no longer applies, and Tacx support say the video will be removed (although they haven't removed it yet...)


Being new to Tacx trainers, I hadn't initially realised that the the Tacx Cycling (tablet) app was, in effect, an old product that appears likely to be abandoned in the future (with the focus now being on Desktop and the Training app for mobile).

Maybe someone else reads this thread in the future and avoids wasting their time like I did.

User avatar
Spiix
Developer
Posts: 728
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:09 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by Spiix » Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:39 pm

Oh... Yeah that's not entirely correct..
Sorry, I assumed support would actually do their job here.

You can only import your own GPX files, not Tacx created ones (which is what the video shows).
I just did it, to make sure that it at least works for me

- Log into the Tacx cloud (https://cloud.tacx.com)
- Go to Create Workout
- Select Import GPX
- Press continue
- Click the "click to choose ..." button
- navigate to your GPX file
- Select low level of smoothing
- Click start uploadµ
- Wait until you get a little notification saying the workout has been saved
- Start TCA
- Log in with the same user you used to log into the Tacx Cloud
- Wait until the little cloud synching icon in the top right goes grey
- Go to GPS
- Your GPS training should be there

horsestaple
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:50 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by horsestaple » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:16 pm

Spiix wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:39 pm
Oh... Yeah that's not entirely correct..
Sorry, I assumed support would actually do their job here.

You can only import your own GPX files, not Tacx created ones (which is what the video shows).

I think Tacx Support were correct when stating that you cannot use public GPS workouts, which is what I was originally attempting as per the video and is what I asked them about...

Looks to me like they did do their job :)

kanesaxo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:14 pm

Re: Riding GPS Route in Tacx Cycling app

Post by kanesaxo » Mon May 07, 2018 4:36 pm

Hi mates, a little help here.

I've created some routes to Strava and exported them to a gpx file.

From tacx.cloud i've uploaded to my account. The routes have synced to my android tablet training and Tacx cycling app.

But - 1) the elevation doesn't export to Strava.
and 2) when tryring to ride at Training app everything is ok, the map (google earth background) shows up. IF i ride through Tacx Cycling app it just shoes the bike line and no backgroung.

Any thoughts ?

Post Reply

Return to “Tacx Cycling app”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests