help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

VR World questions

Moderators: mcorn, Tacx Moderator, malfukt, Tacx support, Fortius Magical Man, Nasz

Post Reply
tyrfing
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:16 am

help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by tyrfing » Sat Jan 16, 2016 3:17 am

Broke the Tacx Fortius unit out of the cobwebs a month ago, had to do some major hardware work on it, but finally got everything in sync and riding has been great. Rode last night, no problems. Today I go to load up a course, everything is fine until it gets to the load page. The animated gears turn as it opens at 0%, but before it even registers 1%, the gears freeze, the screen dumps out to the Windows screen, tacx reopens and I'm right back at the "start vr" page again.

Tried several times with the exact same results. Restarted, but had the same results. Then rebooted, but had no success. The computer runs xp and isn't hooked up to the internet, so I know there's no viruses etc.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
bigrichard
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by bigrichard » Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:36 am

I would like to help but your issue is weird. I would guess that it may be your video card or something with DirectX. If it was the Powerback or Interface you wouldn't have the start button highlighted therefore wouldn't be able to start at all.
NEO
TTS4 Version 4.22.0.0
42" Panasonic Plasma
Gigabyte G1 Sniper M3 Mobo
Intel core i7 3770K @ 3.9GHz
16GB RAM @ 1600 MHz
Nvidia GTX980 4095 MB
Samsung 840 Pro 256G hard drive
Corsair 860 PSU
Windows 7 Home Prem 64bit

thebigoneinfront
Posts: 2810
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:18 pm
Location: Ludwigshafen/Rhine, Germany

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by thebigoneinfront » Sat Jan 16, 2016 10:25 am

Echoes from the past.... I remember the Fortius software had an issue with starting VR and always crashed at that point when no speakers were connected to the PC. Sound must be enabled. Can you play the demo music that comes with Windows, those tunes beyond sytem beeps? If not, that might be the issue.

User avatar
bigrichard
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by bigrichard » Sat Jan 16, 2016 3:08 pm

thebigoneinfront wrote:Echoes from the past.... I remember the Fortius software had an issue with starting VR and always crashed at that point when no speakers were connected to the PC. Sound must be enabled. Can you play the demo music that comes with Windows, those tunes beyond sytem beeps? If not, that might be the issue.
I tested this theory and indeed I got the same issue that tyrfing is reporting. The computers sounds must be enabled.
NEO
TTS4 Version 4.22.0.0
42" Panasonic Plasma
Gigabyte G1 Sniper M3 Mobo
Intel core i7 3770K @ 3.9GHz
16GB RAM @ 1600 MHz
Nvidia GTX980 4095 MB
Samsung 840 Pro 256G hard drive
Corsair 860 PSU
Windows 7 Home Prem 64bit

tyrfing
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:16 am

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by tyrfing » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:26 pm

Unfortunately, that's not it. The settings hadn't changed and when I hooked up an external speaker, I have sound and the problem persists. I tired lowering my video settings, but to no avail. One thing that was stance is that I see the camera is set to rotate, but my steering is on. I didn't think the camera could rotate with steering on. No way to change it though unless you're at the start line already and you use the buttons on the head unit.

I tried An old Race_male_tacx.dds file I had, tried using different routes, but nothing works.

User avatar
bigrichard
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by bigrichard » Sat Jan 16, 2016 5:34 pm

Maybe you could try reloading the .NET code.
NEO
TTS4 Version 4.22.0.0
42" Panasonic Plasma
Gigabyte G1 Sniper M3 Mobo
Intel core i7 3770K @ 3.9GHz
16GB RAM @ 1600 MHz
Nvidia GTX980 4095 MB
Samsung 840 Pro 256G hard drive
Corsair 860 PSU
Windows 7 Home Prem 64bit

tyrfing
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:16 am

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by tyrfing » Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:21 pm

How would i reload the net code?

Keep in mind I'm not hooked to the internet since my system was stable on XP and XP isn't supported any longer. I'm afraid if I have to reload everything and download drivers etc, I'm screwed. Thanks for the help so far.

User avatar
bigrichard
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 1:31 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Re: help! Tacx Starts - VR Won't

Post by bigrichard » Sun Jan 17, 2016 9:22 am

It won't hurt to connect your PC to the internet and fix or update drivers and programs. I do it all the time. The .NET Framework can still be found if you do a search. You will just have to pull the Cat5e cable back out so Fortius won't blue screen. One last thought though, did you try to recover your PC to an earlier time? Not sure if XP had that option.
NEO
TTS4 Version 4.22.0.0
42" Panasonic Plasma
Gigabyte G1 Sniper M3 Mobo
Intel core i7 3770K @ 3.9GHz
16GB RAM @ 1600 MHz
Nvidia GTX980 4095 MB
Samsung 840 Pro 256G hard drive
Corsair 860 PSU
Windows 7 Home Prem 64bit

Post Reply

Return to “Fortius VR Terrains”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests