Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Anything about Power (watts)

Moderators: malfukt, Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Tacx Video Production

Post Reply
martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:20 am

Hello!

I have the following issue with the Vortex Smart-Trainer.

My Setup is:

- Vortex Smart Trainer with the latest firmware installed (December 2017)
- Calibration done after about 20 min warmup (Calibration-indicator is in the middle of the green bar).
- Blue TACX wheel on the back with 7 bar
- Power2Max-Powermeter on the bike

With the Tacx Software (Android with Bluetooth-Connection) it is not possible to adjust a resistance above 240 Watt. When I adjust 240 Watt on the software, my power2max-powermeter max. indicates about 195 Watt.

When I adjust 250 Watt with the Tacx-Software, the power2max-powermeter indicates about 198-205 Watt. I tried it with different gears on the bike and different speed (based on the diagramm you sent me some time ago). It is not possible for me, to drive with a resistance with about 240-250 Watt.

When I configure about 150 Watt in the software, everything is fine (power2max shows about 145-155 Watt). This works fine with 140 Watt, 110 Watt or 195 Watt. It seems above 200 Watt the Vortex is not able to keep the configured resistance.


Additionally I tried the same with the Garmin Edge 520 (the device can control the trainer). If I configure the max. restistance, the powermeter indicates max. about 210 Watt or less.

Please can you help me or maybe I have a misconfiguration.

Best regards

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7434
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by mcorn » Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:37 am

You can only get the higher resistance (watts) at higher speeds. Tacx no longer appears to publish power curves showing the relationship between speed and wattage capability, but this Youtube review shows a chart:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tsFLtiGildA

The Tacx website says its maximum wattage is produced at 40 kmh, but that seems too low to me:

https://tacx.com/product/vortex-smart/

It seems like it should be more like 40 mph/70 kmh. So, you have to be going pretty fast with the brake at maximum torque to achieve this high wattage. I think that in typical use, most users are going to see 200 - 250 watts.

martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:43 am

Hello!

I already got this chart from the Support-Team:

Here is the Link:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1utkv- ... z8XiF8cKBK

Based on this chart, it should be possible to get 240-250 Watt with a speed of about 25-30km/h. But it seems, that this is wrong.

As I wrote, I tried it with several gears (front big ring, rear the smallest ring, cadence about 75-85) and it was not possible to get more than 210 Watt.

Martin

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7434
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by mcorn » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:21 am

You can see that this chart is inconsistent with the specs published on the website. In my first reply, I said that I thought you would have to be at 70 kmh in order to get maximum torque, which is much closer to what the chart shows.

Anyway, in order for your to get maximum wattage, it isn't so much the gear you are in, but whether you are going up a steep hill and there is a signal from the software to the brake to apply maximum resistance. So, try this with various grades starting at 5% and increasing to 10% while maintaining at a speed of at least 30 kmh/18 mph.

martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:41 am

Hello!

Thank you for your help! So you mean, that I should not control the training via the power-setting, I should control it via the slope-function (starting from 5% for example)?

Best regards

Martin

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7434
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by mcorn » Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:57 am

martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 2:41 am
Hello!

Thank you for your help! So you mean, that I should not control the training via the power-setting, I should control it via the slope-function (starting from 5% for example)?

Best regards

Martin
I don't really use any of the mobile apps except to update the firmware, so I can't really say how well the power function works in the app. But just as an experiment I would try using the slope function just to be sure you are getting maximum resistance out of the brake. I am able to get bursts exceeding 250 watts on my Vortex Smart using TTS, TDA and third-party software.

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1698
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:38 pm

martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:20 am
- Vortex Smart Trainer with the latest firmware installed (December 2017)
And you try another firmware: 0.3.7 or 0.2.7
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:10 pm

Hello!

It is very frustration, because today everything worked fine with the resistance (about 255 Watt, low cadence; ~55, speed based on Tacx-Software: ~30 km/h, front big or small ring, rear: middle ring of the cassette).

It worked fine with a very high gear and a "mid"-gear set. I don not know, why yersterday it did not work with any gear-set.

Mabe it depends on the temprature of the brake-unit.

Regarding the firmware: Is it possible, that this is a problem of the actual firmware-version?


Best regards

Martin

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1698
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:18 pm

martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:10 pm
I don not know, why yersterday it did not work with any gear-set.
Sometimes even the usual turning off / on the device helps to bring it to life.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:23 pm

Hello!

Ok, yes it seems, that the firmware is buggie and a reboot "solves" it.

Maybe my next device is a Wahoo Kickr :)

Best regards

Martin

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7434
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by mcorn » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:41 pm

Alex Masalovich wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:18 pm
martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:10 pm
I don not know, why yersterday it did not work with any gear-set.
Sometimes even the usual turning off / on the device helps to bring it to life.
You should always reboot the brake when moving between BT and ANT+ method of connection.

martin_p
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by martin_p » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:45 pm

Hello!

Ok, but yesterday i only used ant+ (my samsung mobile supports ant+).

Anyway, thanks for the support, it seems it works somehow (for now).

Martin

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1698
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Vortex Smart, resistance (above 220 Watt)

Post by Alex Masalovich » Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:41 pm

martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:20 am
With the Tacx Software (Android with Bluetooth-Connection) it is not possible to adjust a resistance above 240 Watt.
martin_p wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:45 pm
but yesterday i only used ant+ (my samsung mobile supports ant+).
:?: :?: :?:
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

Post Reply

Return to “Wattage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest