Power accuracy without cadence sensor

Anything about Power (watts)

Moderators: Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Tacx Video Production, malfukt

Post Reply
Xcyrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:15 am

Power accuracy without cadence sensor

Post by Xcyrus » Wed May 27, 2015 10:20 am

Hello,

I have a Flow and I want to know if the power accuracy showed on display will be affected if I remove the cadence sensor.

Thanks

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Power accuracy without cadence sensor

Post by ms6073 » Wed May 27, 2015 3:37 pm

From answers to similar posts, I think the iFlow, like the Fortius and iMagic require the wired cadence to be used as it is sort of safety 'switch' and if no cadence is detected after a few seconds, the motorbrake stops.
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

Xcyrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 10:15 am

Re: Power accuracy without cadence sensor

Post by Xcyrus » Thu May 28, 2015 10:19 am

Thanks for answer but I have Flow not iFlow.

The motorbrake isn't affected at all if I did not mount the cadence sensor ( which is dead anyway ).

The question is about the readings on the display...if it will affect the power readings on the display.

EHB
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:43 am

Re: Power accuracy without cadence sensor

Post by EHB » Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:59 am

Hi,

I used to have a Flow (T2200 I think) and had a Power2Max power meter. The cadence sensor is not needed for power. One thing I did notice is that the reproducibility is very effected by tyre pressure and screw tightness even if you recalibrate every day. It is possible to get it consistent and within 10W of a PM, but you have to be really strict with keeping everything the same. Also it isn't quick to react to changes in power, so don't be disappointed by sprint power as the actual power will be much higher.

Post Reply

Return to “Wattage”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests