Satori Smart calibration question

Satori, Swing, Sirius, Speedmatic, Rollers

Moderators: malfukt, Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Nasz, Fortius Magical Man

Post Reply
pushstart
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 am

Satori Smart calibration question

Post by pushstart » Sat Feb 07, 2015 5:34 am

I just set up my new Satori Smart and was going about trying to calibrate it. My understanding from the minimal instructions in the quickstart guide suggest that I should:
1) Turn unit on. Confirm that red light is blinking slowly (1 x per second).
2) Pedal up to 40kph (or above?) at which point the light will begin flashing very quickly (4x/sec)
3) Stop pedaling (and let wheel just spin down to a stop? or apply brakes?) at which point the light should flash 2x/sec (?)

I can do steps number (1) and (2); however, I'm not seeing a 2x/sec flash after the wheel spins back to a stop from the 40kph calibration effort. Once when I was trying this, it seemed like there was a brief double flash (2x/sec) after I stopped pedaling, but then it shifts back to blinking 1x/sec.

Is this normal behavior -- and is it then correctly calibrated?

Also, is calibration used to zero out the wattage or for something else? I ask because when I first setup the trainer, uncalibrated, the wattage numbers were crazy high. After calibration attempts (unsure whether they were successful), it seems like the wattage is a little more normal, though I don't have a power meter to compare, so I kinda want to make sure I'm doing this correctly. The whole point of getting the Smart unit was to have power data; not much good to me if that can't be trusted :)

I also tried using the Android app; however, that doesn't seem to really work. Once I get over 40kph on the android app it just stays there telling me to pedal 40kph; eventually it switches to a screen that says my tire is "too loose" -- no matter how hard I tighten it. If I stop pedaling at 40kph (when I see the lights on the unit start flashing 4x/sec), the dialog in the app just stays open forever as if frozen, saying I need to pedal 40kph and displaying the last speed before I stopped pedaling. Feels very buggy.

Thanks in advance! (And I apologize if this is covered elsewhere; my searching for "Satori Smart calibration" didn't seem to find the answer.)

dermate
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by dermate » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:04 pm

Hi,

same here, the Android app has the same identical bahaviour, no matter what I do: loosen, tighten, etc. I'm using Tacx Trainer Tyre at pressure 8, perfectly trued.

Didn't know about the calibration without the app, will give it a try.

Also the cadence data is sent out via BT/ANT+ in a weird way: very fluctuating, it jumps here and there (from 20 to 50 to 100) every second, and it is absolutely useless and inconsistent.

Felling very disappointed.

Regards

Riccardo

pushstart
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 am

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by pushstart » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:18 pm

Yes, I will follow up. I have used the trainer a few times now. The normal (without app) calibration does seem to work, even if the instructions are a little confusing. I calibrate it by just spinning up to ~40km/h (the light starts blinking fast) and then I just stop pedaling and let it spin to a stop. After that the unit seems to behave predictably and although I don't have anything to compare it to, the power numbers seem like they'd be within parameters.

I have not used the cadence values the Satori broadcasts. I have a separate cadence (magnet) and speed sensor I am using, so I can't comment on that.

I will note that I have experienced some big power spikes on one of my rides; I'm not sure why this happened. On my subsequent trainer ride I ensured that I didn't have anything running during calibration and also that I wasn't doing any "sprinting". I had no issues the second time. The power spikes are frustrating because they skew things like average power for the entire ride -- e.g. when then spike is 35kw! One review I read said that the power spikes only happen over ANT+ (not BT). I don't have a BT setup to validate that claim, but may be worth exploring if you have apps that can integrate with BT.

Finally, I will note that this trainer does not do well with hard sprinting efforts. I know that they claim it only supports 800 watts resistance for any sustained period, and that should be taken seriously. I was trying for the polka dot jersey in Zwift and apparently exceeded the 800watts for over 10 seconds and the power numbers went off the charts. I got the jersey, I guess, but it wasn't legit. So sadly this trainer doesn't lend itself to competitive Zwift :) -- But it works great for FTP tests and regular interval workouts, which was more the point for me.

dermate
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by dermate » Thu Feb 26, 2015 3:55 pm

Hi there,

If I go out and buy a new ANT+ cadence sensor, how can I tell the Edge 510 to ignore the Satori sensor and to receive data from the new sensor only?

pushstart
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 am

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by pushstart » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:46 pm

dermate wrote:Hi there,

If I go out and buy a new ANT+ cadence sensor, how can I tell the Edge 510 to ignore the Satori sensor and to receive data from the new sensor only?
I think if you unpair "Forget" the power speed/cadence sensor and then search for cadence/speed sensor while the Satori is *off* you should be good to go. My 510 was already paired with my speed/cadence sensor before I hooked up the Satori, so I never even realized that the Satori also was broadcasting speed/cadence until I went to setup my laptop for Zwift.

dermate
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by dermate » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:37 pm

Thank you much!

Regards

Riccardo

dermate
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:59 pm

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by dermate » Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:22 am

"I'm not seeing a 2x/sec flash after the wheel spins back to a stop from the 40kph calibration effort"

Same here. Not working?

pushstart
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 am

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by pushstart » Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:17 pm

dermate wrote:"I'm not seeing a 2x/sec flash after the wheel spins back to a stop from the 40kph calibration effort"

Same here. Not working?
I think it (the calibration) might be still working, but the instructions (and/or the led pattern they chose) seem poor.

I say "it is working", although this hasn't ever quite worked 100% for me. Most recently, my trainer's ANT+ power readings (and probably other sensors) started just suddenly stopping in the middle of rides -- and then starting back up after a few seconds. Pretty frustrating!

Huggyhotspur
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:55 am

Re: Satori Smart calibration question

Post by Huggyhotspur » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:00 pm

Hi, I found my wattages were low compared to my perceived effort on sufferfest so downloaded the utility app. I could then never get to see the line in the middle, always said it was too loose. Having read this thread I did the update and it worked immediately and I was able to centre the line. However, I did a 32 min ride, wattages were in my ball park but it measured a huge speed increase. I averaged 37.7mph and a 20 mile ride in the time. Clearly this is wrong or I've missed my calling. Any ideas why this would be?

Post Reply

Return to “Cycletrainers - Rollers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests