Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Fortius, i-Magic , Cosmos, Flow , upgrade kits

Moderators: malfukt, Tacx support, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Nasz, Fortius Magical Man

Post Reply
JoostBr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:17 am

Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by JoostBr » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:31 am

Hi all,

I bought myself a used Tacx Fortius Multiplayer with T1932 interface. Installed it all with Tacx Trainer Software V2.0 on windows XP 32bit. After trying a simple workout, it braked after like 5 seconds and in the display the following message appeared : "could not detect cadence sensor". I tried reconnecting and positioning, nothing helped.

I installed software TTS V4.21 basic on windows 7, 64bit. And the same problem. I found some possible causes on the internet and checked the power supply cable f.e. no problems here.

Is it the cadence sensor? anyone had these problems?

Help is appreciated!

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 1801
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: USA, Houston, TX

Re: Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by ms6073 » Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:53 am

If TTS cannot detect the cadence, then it will not allow the motorbrake to rotate. Not sure if this will work, but if you have an ANT+USB Antenna, since it seems the wired cadence is knackered, you could try using an ANT+cadence sensor with TTS 4,
TTS 4.19.1 | T2800 NEO Smart [formerly Bushido & Fortius]
MSI GS70 Laptop | Windows 10 x64
Intel Core i7-4710HQ 2.40 GHz | 16 Gb DDR3 1600 MHz
GeForce GTX 870M | 256 GB SSD x 2 RAID 0 + 1 TB HDD
Samsung 32" LED TV

sgmack
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Essex UK

Re: Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by sgmack » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:39 pm

Hi

You say it failed after 5 secs.........I assume it's the first 5 secs and therefore doesn't work at all !!
Check that there is actually a magnet in the holder ......They have been known to fall out !!!

If it has fallen out a small fridge magnet works fine.
To check the actual sensor, when passed by the magnet you should hear a very faint "click".

Cheers..........Steve
NEO W2017
TTS4
SSD Hard Drive
Win 7 64 bit
AMD FX 6300 six core @3.5 ghz
Gigabyte 970 DSP MB
Nvidia 1050 TI
Kingston hyper x DDR 3 16gb @ 1600mhz

frankhertz
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:02 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by frankhertz » Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:04 pm

This happened to me once. The reason was that I did not push the connector from the cadence detector to the powerback unit far enough in. It looked like it was attached but it was not pushed all the way in. In my case, this fixed the problem.

Harry

JoostBr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:17 am

Re: Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by JoostBr » Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:15 pm

Thanx for the reply's

@steve; you are right it doesn't work at all, because it stops 5 seconds after starting. I checked the magnet; it worked on my chain, so I assume there is a magnet in it, regarding the sensor; I do not hear a click, I'll try a new sensor.

@Harry; I dubble checked the connector is pushed in all the way.

sgmack
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: Essex UK

Re: Fortius Motorbrake/cadence meter

Post by sgmack » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:14 pm

Hi Joost

You could check the sensor wires for continuity.
I've never done this, but i've heard the end on the sensor comes apart revealing the two wires.
If you have a multimeter you can check that the wires are intact between the sensor and the small plug.

Sometimes giving the sensor a good "flick" is enough to release the relay.
Changing the sensor may be your only option.......Hoping the problem isn't with the power back unit, otherwise you're really stuck !!!

Cheers............Steve
NEO W2017
TTS4
SSD Hard Drive
Win 7 64 bit
AMD FX 6300 six core @3.5 ghz
Gigabyte 970 DSP MB
Nvidia 1050 TI
Kingston hyper x DDR 3 16gb @ 1600mhz

Post Reply

Return to “Fortius - i-magic - Cosmos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests