Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt [SOLVED]

Fortius, i-Magic , Cosmos, Flow , upgrade kits

Moderators: mcorn, Tacx Moderator, malfukt, Tacx support, Fortius Magical Man, Nasz

Post Reply
E_lexy
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt [SOLVED]

Post by E_lexy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:05 pm

I bought a Flow Smart a week at the end of January 2018 and did a few endurance rides < 200 watts and saw no problem.
Now I tried a training with some intervals of 400+ and found that the resistance is not building up anymore when it reaches 200 watt.

This happens in Zwift and the Tacx Android training app.
I am running 8 bar in my special roller tire in a 26 inch wheel (mtb).

Am I doing something wrong or missing something. I am actually about to take it back.

I've tried finding post with similar issues, but the search function keeps telling me to try later :-(

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by Alex Masalovich » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:28 pm

Here the search does not work. Use the advanced search on Google, for example:

Code: Select all

Flow power limit site:http://forum.tacx.com/
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=34282
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=34624
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7231
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by mcorn » Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:50 am

As these posts suggest, there are limitations on the power range of the Flow Smart. I think it is a nice brake, but it is quite limited in its ability to produce high resistance at lower speeds and lower slopes.

E_lexy
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by E_lexy » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:08 am

Thanks for that, really helpful.

Pedalling 40kmh is nearly impossible on my single chainring MTB setup with 32x11.
Let alone 60kmh.

This is really disappointing for a trainer advertised as ERG mode.

mcorn
Moderator
Posts: 7231
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: USA, Bellingham, Washington

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by mcorn » Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:21 pm

E_lexy wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:08 am
Thanks for that, really helpful.

Pedalling 40kmh is nearly impossible on my single chainring MTB setup with 32x11.
Let alone 60kmh.

This is really disappointing for a trainer advertised as ERG mode.
Most bikes are going to have the ability to achieve much high gearing, so I am not sure I would fault Tacx for that. But even given that, the Flow is not designed for high resistance training.

E_lexy
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by E_lexy » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:55 pm

Problem solved!

I put the trainer wheel in an old mtb I had standing around that still has a triple chainring on the front.
Found an old 9 speed cassette in a box and tried the bike on the Flow Smart.

Riding on the large ring shifting through the 4 smallest cogs I can reach all the way up to 750 Watt (for a brief moment :-) ). I remember from the review of Shane Miller, that shifting will be necessary to stick to prescribed wattages.
I haven't checked the number on the large ring, but I believe it's a 42 or a 44. Apparently that gets the wheel spinning fast enough for the magnets to do their work.

Now that I don't have my RotoR power meter anymore I have to use the Flow's power meter which gives a significantly lower number, about 10-15 Watts. Which is only fair, since the drive train, especially on the older bike will consume quite a few Watts. Not sure if the difference is justified but as long as I train in this setup all the time, based on the lower FTP I guess it will be ok.

Thanks for the help, no need to take it back!

p.s. is there a way to add [SOLVED] to the title?

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1636
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt

Post by Alex Masalovich » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:32 pm

E_lexy wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:55 pm
p.s. is there a way to add [SOLVED] to the title?
Added. This is done by editing the message.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

E_lexy
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Re: Flow Smart not going over 200 Watt [SOLVED]

Post by E_lexy » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:17 am

Thanks for adding [SOLVED].
Although I still don't see where I can change the title.

Post Reply

Return to “Fortius - i-magic - Cosmos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests