Setting up a smart trainer/changing gears?

Moderators: JörgenJ, mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Tacx Video Production, malfukt, Steve Newton, Tacx support

TacxMan2017

Setting up a smart trainer/changing gears?

Post by TacxMan2017 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:09 am

I'm fairly new to the world of smart trainers. My old trainer was a basic mag resistance type so I had to use the handlebar lever or change gears to adjust the resistance. I'm a little unsure of how things should be on a smart trainer.

I have the Flow T2240 trainer which is fairly modest compared to others. The initial setup was a breeze and I calibrated it easily enough, but I'm wondering if it is set up correctly. I'm getting a decent workout from the trainer, my heart rate on 'hilly routes' is up and averages are not too far off what I would expect on similar climbs in the real world...perhaps a little lower inside the house as the lack of a breeze or fan to cool me down puts me off from going flat out. I have the windows open which helps but it's still not ideal.

I'm aware the Flow is limited to a 6% slope and that's fine even though I regularly ride steeper climbs in the real world, but what concerns me is that on most rides I feel the resistance isn't that great even though TTS4 is putting out a believable speed for the climb. When I'm riding steep hills on the road, there's a definite difference in effort.

What gear should I set the trainer up with for the calibration?

Also, should I be changing gears on a smart trainer? If I feel my cadence is higher than it should be for a steep climb, should I go up a gear or two to simulate the increased effort and lower cadence?

I rode a virtual route from Bedoin to Ventoux the other day and whilst it felt like a proper workout (probably because I decided to sprint finish the last 300-400 metres...I was shaking when I got off the bike), I still felt the majority of the ride wasn't a true reflection of the journey.

thebigoneinfront