Streetview issue again?

Moderators: mcorn, Tacx Moderator, Tacx Video Production, malfukt, Steve Newton, Tacx support, JörgenJ

Post Reply
davkar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:20 am

Streetview issue again?

Post by davkar » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:25 pm

Hi everyone!
I have the same problem with the streetview during the gps ride than last winter was. The picture frosen and blured. I have the latest TTS version and valid Google Earth licence. What could be the solution ?
Thanks for any advice
David
Kill the hill!

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:22 pm

I have a problem with streetview my tacx software tts 4 clashes whenever I turn on the google steetview. does anyone have an answer for this.

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Alex Masalovich » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:41 am

Do not expect stable performance from this feature:
Please note you may encounter glitches and performance issues when riding with Google Street view.
Source: https://tacx.com/product/google-license/
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:35 am

Thanks another question I have just renewed my google license but it shows an expirey date of 30th December 1899 why does it sow this date?

Harold

davkar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:20 am

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by davkar » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:46 pm

Harold0503 wrote:
Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:35 am
Thanks another question I have just renewed my google license but it shows an expirey date of 30th December 1899 why does it sow this date?

Harold
If I look at the licence info I see the same date.
I wrote to the Tacx support and here is the answer:
Unfortunately, we still have issues with google streetview.
As mentioned on the Tacx website (Please note you may encounter glitches and performance issues when riding with Google Street view)
So far, we have not been able to solve the problem.
We apologize for the inconvenience.

I think they should advertise this problem more visible, before lot of Tacx user renew the licene for 20Euro. :oops:
David
Kill the hill!

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:55 pm

Hi
They should also say that the streetview does not work. As I have now just been told that by tacx support team. That is why they have reduced the google license, I must admit I did not see any reduction in the license fee. They should say in black and white on their web site that thee streetview does not work.
The streetview was one of the reason I bought a tacx trainer and added on the google license.

Wow what a way to do business conning the public.

Harold

davkar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:20 am

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by davkar » Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:05 pm

The licence fee was 30 Euro last year. I don't see any reason why I renew my licence without the streetview. I'm going to spend my money for the Zwift subscription fee.
David
Kill the hill!

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Alex Masalovich » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:16 pm

Test Golden Cheetah. Check out how well there working the streetview.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:21 pm

The interesting thing is what Google do about this if it gets popular. However because it is free it avoids one of the potential traps that Tacx fell into.
Thing I like is that it offers the capability to generate your own video rides. This is a feature that while 'possible' with Tacx, has always been really awkward.
Definitely worth a look....

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:41 pm

Update, just went and investigated, and 'guess what'. The Streetview ability has been removed from the current release. Was causing too many problems with memory leaks and crashes.....
So if you want to try it, you need to download 3.3, not 3.4.

What is such a pity, is that Google had such a useful program, and have managed to make it 'worse and worse'. :(

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:17 am

Harold0503 wrote:
Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:35 am
Thanks another question I have just renewed my google license but it shows an expirey date of 30th December 1899 why does it sow this date?

Harold
That was the problem I had when I renewed the license. First at the end of 2015, and then again at the start of this year.
They played around, but the only way that actually fixed it both times was for me to send them my license data, and they then edited it themselves.... I lost several weeks of Streetview through this (the first time they gave me an extra week, but this time they didn't, despite taking several weeks to fix it) - annoyingly I wanted StreetView at this time, to rehearse a ride I was going to do - they did offer to cancel the license and give me some free videos, but these wouldn't give me the feature I needed at this time... :(

User avatar
Alex Masalovich
Moderator
Posts: 1233
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Alex Masalovich » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:02 pm

ttelmah wrote:
Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:41 pm
Update, just went and investigated, and 'guess what'. The Streetview ability has been removed from the current release. Was causing too many problems with memory leaks and crashes.....
So if you want to try it, you need to download 3.3, not 3.4.
Thanks for the important clarification. I was mislead by the fact that the function Streetview is still mentioned them on the main page.
Тренируйтесь много, отдыхайте ещё больше!

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:11 pm

Only after I couldn't get it working, did I find this:

<https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... z4Y4X4Qlcc>

It looks as if it is probably temporary, and the map tracking does work.

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:35 pm

I managed to get tacx support to change my expiry date from 1899 to 1/10/2018, but my streetview still clashes the program when I enable it.

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:18 pm

The current version is normally OK. Are you running the latest TTS release?. There was a crash at this point a few releases ago.
Also Streetview is a heavy user on memory. Try reducing the stored rides, which is a common cause of memory crashes on TTS.
Have a look at this thread:
<viewtopic.php?t=33667>

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:15 am

I am using the latest update TTS4.22.5. Graphics card is a Gt730 with 2gb ram and I also have 12GB of ram on board my PC

Another question I am thinking of installing a SSD drive how do I go about transferring the Tacx program

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:26 pm

The amount of RAM doesn't help on the memory use....

TTS, is a 32bit application, and only uses 2GB (uses a signed address pointer). This is why it commonly runs out of memory on so many things. I posted an experiment I tried a while ago of setting the bit in the application so that it could use more than 2GB, and this worked for me. I also pointed this out to Tacx, but heard nothing back.....

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:49 am

OK so how do I get it to use more memory?

ttelmah
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by ttelmah » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:16 am

Why not try reducing the rides first?. Dead simple, juts copy them out, and if the problem goes away you know it is a memory issue.
You can put them straight back if it doesn't fix it, but it takes about a minute to do.
It should be one of the first things to try for every TTS4 problem!...

If you want to try setting the LAA bit, to allow full 32bit rather than 31bit addressing, look at:
<https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/thre ... re.112556/>
Remember it is the main executable not the launcher that needs this, and there is the VR executable as well.

Why TTS are not compiling for the 64bit platform I don't know. I suspect they have some old DLL's, that were written by older developers, and they don't have the skills/knowledge/time to rebuild these. Sticking only with 32bit for what is a relatively 'heavy' memory use application is now insane.

Harold0503
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: Streetview issue again?

Post by Harold0503 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:06 pm

Have resolved my street view issue. Installed a SSD drive on my PC reloaded windows and the tacx TTS 4 programs and now I have street view back. It seemed to be a windows problem.

Post Reply

Return to “General Training topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest